Compare moats
Up to three covered companies, band by band. Every call is a curated editorial judgment, never a disclosed figure — and every band carries its cited basis.
| Fabrinet | Cisco Systems | CXMT | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moat rating | narrow The FY2026 10-K grounds a real but bounded defence. On the defence side: Item 1 states that in the manufacturing services market "there are significant barriers to entry in our existing and target markets, including lengthy sales cycles, the need to demonstrate complex precision optical and electro-mechanical engineering and manufacturing capabilities to a prospective customer and the ability to protect a customer's intellectual property," and that qualification of a program "may take three to six months or longer to complete." On the limiting side, the same filing shows the protection does not reach price: gross profit was 12.0% of revenues in FY2026 against 12.1% in FY2025 and 12.4% in FY2024 even as revenue rose 35.7% to $4.64 billion, four customers each exceeded 10% of revenue (Cisco 19.9%, NVIDIA 16.3%, Nokia 10.7%, Amazon 10.5%), and "reliance on a small number of customers gives those customers substantial purchasing power and leverage in negotiating contracts with us." Sales are made on "individual purchase orders that have short lead times and are subject to revision or cancellation," so the qualified program is sticky while the contract is not. | narrow The FY2025 10-K shows a moat that still pays but no longer compounds: total gross margin of 64.9% and remaining performance obligations of $43,533 million (up 6%) against a Networking product category that fell from $34,570 million in fiscal 2023 to $29,229 million in fiscal 2024 to $28,304 million in fiscal 2025, and a product gross-margin bridge in which 'Product pricing' subtracted 1.6 percentage points. All of the reported category growth came from Splunk-carrying lines - Security +59% and Observability +26%. Real and durable, but bounded: narrow, not wide. | none CXMT's 2026 interim report (published 2026-08-29) names scale and IDM technology as core competencies, but also concedes gaps. It says that compared with the leading international manufacturers the Company 'still has a certain gap in overall scale, technology accumulation and customer resources' (与国际头部厂商相比,公司在整体规模、技术积累、客户资源等方面仍然存在一定差距). It describes its scale effect as 'gradually emerging' (逐步显现), and its gross-margin risk covers the case where the scale effect cannot materialise over the long term (公司规模效应长期无法显现). Its excess returns span a single shortage. The retained-earnings note shows an accumulated deficit of ¥36.65bn entering 2026, after ¥1.87bn of 2025 net profit attributable to the parent, and the first-half 2025 net loss attributable to shareholders was ¥2.33bn. Then first-half 2026 revenue rose 873.64%, which the report attributes to the global DRAM supply shortage, higher prices and sharply higher volumes, and the main-business gross margin reached 84.84%. |
| Moat type | switching costs The 10-K locates the stickiness in qualification rather than in patents or scale. Customers "do not purchase our services until they qualify the services and satisfactorily complete factory audits and vendor evaluations"; qualification "may take three to six months or longer"; production is transferred "copy-exact: the setup of a production process identical to the one used by our customer"; and the filing's own experience of changing a component source is that it "resulted in our customers or their end customers requiring requalification and validation of components, a process that can often be lengthy and has negatively impacted the timing of our revenue" — the same friction a customer would face moving the program elsewhere. The filing rules out an IP-based moat itself: "Historically, patents have not played a significant role in the protection of our proprietary rights," and any process improvement developed for a customer's product is "immediately assigned to that customer." The Thailand cost base is a genuine advantage but the filing warns it is not durable on its own — "Wage increases may impact our ability to sustain our competitive advantage and may reduce our profit margin." | switching costs The durable piece is the contracted annuity attached to installed equipment: total remaining performance obligations of $43,533 million, of which $21,961 million is services and $21,810 million is long-term (recognised beyond twelve months), carried at a services gross margin of 68.5% that has risen for three consecutive years from 66.4% and 68.1%. Customers keep paying for support on gear they already run. | none On the report's own evidence, no candidate moat source qualifies. Cost scale: the report calls DRAM a highly standardised product (高度标准化的产品) in which the cost advantage of scale is a core competency. But CXMT ranks fourth globally by capacity, and the report, calculating on sales, puts Samsung, SK hynix and Micron at 33.96%, 34.48% and 23.41% of the 2025 global DRAM market, so the scale advantage lies with the leaders. IP: it reports 4,484 domestic patents (3,744 of them invention patents) and 3,400 overseas patents as of 2026-06-30. Yet it describes its core technology as reaching 'international advanced level' (国际先进水平) and flags possible IP disputes with competitors. Switching costs: ¥133.48bn of ¥150.31bn first-half 2026 revenue went through distributors, who under the report's revenue note decide their own resale prices. |
| Leadership | co leader The leadership claim in the filing is the company's own qualitative assessment: "We believe we are a leader in manufacturing products for the optical communications market," and, on breadth of process technology, "Based on our experience with customers and our qualitative assessment of our capabilities, we believe we provide a broader array of process technologies to the optics industry than any other manufacturing services provider." The same Item 1 names a crowded field against it — "Benchmark Electronics, Inc., Celestica Inc., InnoLight Technology (Suzhou) Ltd., Jabil Inc., Sanmina Corporation, Venture Corporation Limited and Eoptolink Technology Inc., Ltd., as well as the internal manufacturing capabilities of our customers" — and no independent share ranking is given, so the record supports front-of-field standing but not sole primacy. | co leader The 10-K names no competitor and discloses no market share anywhere in Management's Discussion and Analysis. The positional facts it does give are scale and direction: Networking product revenue of $28,304 million in fiscal 2025 - by far the largest of its four categories - but down $6.3 billion from fiscal 2023, with channel partner financing volume falling from $32.1 billion to $27.1 billion to $24.9 billion across fiscal 2023-2025. | fast follower TrendForce (2026-09-24) reports that CXMT's global DRAM revenue share rose to 9.5% in 2Q26 from 7.6% in 1Q26, 'placing it fourth behind Samsung at 39.4%, SK hynix at 24.9%, and Micron at 23.3%'. It is catching up through generation-skipping R&D. The interim report had its fifth process platform in customer certification, and a voluntary disclosure on 2026-09-21 announced that platform's mass production, adding that its products are not yet in scale sales and yields need time to ramp. TrendForce's listing analysis (2026-07-28) still says CXMT 'still trails Samsung, SK hynix, and Micron in advanced processes, product performance, yields, and certification by high-end customers'. |
| Pricing power | weak Gross profit was 12.0% of revenues in FY2026, 12.1% in FY2025 and 12.4% in FY2024 — flat to down across three years in which revenue grew from $2.88 billion to $4.64 billion — and the FY2026 increase in gross profit is attributed to "sales volume and product mix," not price. Item 1 says so directly: "we expect the prices we charge for our manufactured products to decrease over time (partly as a result of competitive market forces)," with the offset coming from cycle-time, mix, yield and material-cost work rather than from rate. The risk factors add that customer consolidation gives buyers "increased leverage that may result in, among other things, decreases in our average selling prices," and that new competition "could result in price reductions for our services, reduced gross profit margins or loss of market share." | moderate The product gross-margin bridge attributes fiscal 2025's 0.2-point improvement to productivity (+2.0 points) and mix (+1.1 points) while 'Product pricing' subtracted 1.6 points; a legal dispute with a supplier cost a further 0.8 points. Total gross margin of 64.9% (product 63.7%, services 68.5%) is held by cost and mix, not by price. | weak CXMT is a price taker riding the cycle. The interim report attributes first-half revenue growth to the global DRAM supply shortage, rising prices and sharply higher volumes. It records industry prices between 2015 and 2025 as high as $7.89/GB and as low as $1.78/GB in first-half 2023, and it states that the continued steep price rise is not sustainable. Main-business revenue was ¥15.22bn against cost of ¥13.29bn in first-half 2025, and ¥150.04bn against ¥22.75bn in first-half 2026. Most sales go through distributors, who set their own resale prices. |
| Summary | Fabrinet is the neutral outsourced factory for complex photonics. The FY2026 10-K describes a business that wins on qualification and IP hygiene rather than on product ownership: a "factory-within-a-factory" that physically segregates each customer's engineers and floor space, copy-exact line transfers, Telcordia-grade environmental qualification, and a claim that "there is no other manufacturing services provider with a similar breadth and depth of optical and electro-mechanical engineering and process technology capabilities that does not directly compete with its customers in their end-markets." That neutrality is claimed as a belief, not demonstrated — the filing's own framing is "we believe" — and Item 1 names the field it is measured against without characterising any of them: "Benchmark Electronics, Inc., Celestica Inc., InnoLight Technology (Suzhou) Ltd., Jabil Inc., Sanmina Corporation, Venture Corporation Limited and Eoptolink Technology Inc., Ltd., as well as the internal manufacturing capabilities of our customers." Once a program is qualified it tends to stay, and "in many cases, we are the sole outsourced manufacturing partner used by our customers for the products that we manufacture for them." What the moat does not buy is margin. Revenue grew 35.7% in FY2026 to $4.64 billion on the AI-datacenter build-out — data center products are now 47.9% of revenue — yet gross margin slipped to 12.0%, and Item 1 concedes the company expects "the prices we charge for our manufactured products to decrease over time." The two live erosion paths are named in the risk factors: customer consolidation that "may result in, among other things, decreases in our average selling prices," and customers who "acquired the capacity to manufacture products in-house." Concentration cuts both ways this year — FY2025 had two customers above 10% of revenue, FY2026 had four, so the book broadened even as its scale grew. | The installed base still switches slowly - but the filing does not claim it is winning the AI datacenter on the strength of that base. The fiscal 2025 Networking decline is attributed to 'product shipments returning to normalized levels during the first half of fiscal 2025 from the elevated levels ... in the first half of fiscal 2024', to servers, and to 'a decline in campus switching' - normalisation, not disclosed share loss, so the whitebox/Arista thesis is not something this 10-K either confirms or denies. What the filing does disclose is the shape of the AI dollar Cisco is actually winning: Americas service provider and cloud growth 'driven by AI infrastructure revenue from webscale customers', funded by additional purchase commitments 'related to manufacturing Cisco Silicon One and other products to meet demand from webscale and other customers', which 'significantly increased our supply chain exposure, which has resulted in negative impacts to our product gross margin in recent periods and may result in further negative impacts in future periods'. Enterprise switching earns 63.7% product gross margin; webscale silicon costs margin to serve. The moat is intact where the annuity is and thin where the growth is. | CXMT (ChangXin) is a Hefei-based IDM that designs and fabricates DDR5 and LPDDR4X/LPDDR5/5X/LPDDR6 memory and sells DRAM wafers, chips and modules. Its 2026 interim report says it reached its fourth process platform through a 'generation-skipping' (跳代研发) R&D strategy, and that it ranks first in China and fourth globally by shipments and sales. First-half 2026 revenue was ¥150.31bn (DDR series ¥69.47bn, LPDDR series ¥78.19bn), with a main-business gross margin of 84.84%. TrendForce puts its 2Q26 DRAM revenue share at 9.5%, up from 7.6% in 1Q26. The position is real but recent. The report concedes gaps to the three leaders in scale, technology and customers. The customers it names are Alibaba Cloud, ByteDance, Tencent, Lenovo, Xiaomi, Transsion, Honor, OPPO and vivo. On 2026-06-08 the US Defense Department added its subsidiary ChangXin Memory to the Section 1260H list. TrendForce notes that export controls leave CXMT relying on DUV multiple patterning rather than EUV, and that its prospectus 'has not disclosed a clear mass-production timetable' for HBM. The report itself warns that the continued steep rise in DRAM prices is not sustainable (价格的持续大幅上涨不具备可持续性) as international makers add capacity. |
| Chain position | A contract manufacturer sitting between optical components and the network and AI-datacenter OEMs whose brands ship the finished box. FY2026 revenue is 47.9% data center, 33.3% communications infrastructure and 18.8% automotive, industrial and other markets (FY2025: 46.2% / 30.7% / 23.1%), with Cisco, NVIDIA, Nokia and Amazon each above 10% of revenue. Fabrinet also integrates one layer down, designing and fabricating its own customized optics and glass — crystals, ferrules, precision glass tubing — at Fuzhou, China and Mountain Lakes, New Jersey, both for its own assemblies and for the merchant market, while volume manufacturing runs from the Pinehurst and Chonburi campuses in Thailand. | Supplies networking into AI datacenters: the 10-K ties Americas service provider and cloud growth to 'AI infrastructure revenue from webscale customers' and to Cisco Silicon One manufacturing commitments. | Upstream DRAM IDM selling wafers, chips and modules to server, smartphone, PC and automotive makers, mostly through distributors (¥133.48bn of ¥150.31bn first-half 2026 revenue). |
| Products (share / barrier) |
|
|
|
| Long-horizon vote | +0.05 at weight 0.20 · swarm neutral Editorial prior, not backtested. | +0.13 at weight 0.20 · swarm neutral Editorial prior, not backtested. | -0.06 at weight 0.20 · swarm bullish Editorial prior, not backtested. |